Water Colours & Brush Lettering

Something new that I have decided to do this week is going into more details with water colours and using brush lettering to highlight my letters, with blending and shadow effects. I found that it is quite easy to blend letters by using the same medium (coloured pens, sharpies, calligraphy brushes, etc.) and adding a drop of water to the transition from one letter to the next. I find that this is more effective, easier to do, and also lessens cost expenses (from purchasing inks).

In these photos of my calligraphy work, I changed the filter in order to create a “pop” in colours. The yellow flower represents that “Some days you just have to create your own sunshine,” in order to enjoy a good day and have positive outcomes to it.

 

In my second piece, I tried changing the filter so that the red berries would accent my calligraphy work as well as my Educational Journey in how I believe that;
“A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.”  – Lao Tzu

 

Some videos that I watched on YouTube to help me with my brush pen and water colours are below:
Creating Color Gradient Effects: Using Watercolours and Brush Pens
– How to Hand Letter: Easy Tutorials from Beginner to Pro!
Watercolor Calligraphy for Beginners – JetPens Pen Pals
Watercolor Brush Lettering: Using a Light Pad – Kristina Werner Designs

Leave a Reply

